Happy birthday to me.

I close my eyes and slowly drift away on the sound of the curtains blowing against the top of the bed.

The crackles of the wind, and the darkness of the night, always trouble my aching heart.

The worries in my life, keep piling up. Why is planning for my future, such a bust.

To make things worse, your not near to me.

Though the distance isn’t the issue, it’s the time that’s against me,

Because, as I fall into silent sleep, on your side of the world, you’re about to awake.

During the day, life feels more calm, but at night is when my demons crawl.

Into my head they complain, and on my heart they poke.

I never thought turning 21 was so harsh.

Happy Birthday to me.

Leave a Reply

