Lebanon, piece of heaven

Lebanon-Flag-Grunge
Source: http://wallpas.com/lebanon-flag-grunge.html

Many poets have written for you,
Many voices have sung for you,
Many people have died for you,
And many families long to return to you.

Lebanon, a piece of heaven on earth, they say,
How I wish I knew you in a better way.
For my blood and roots belong to you,
Yet my childhood on your land does not exist.

I come to you as a visitor,
My beloved home land.
I come to you as an outsider,
Because that is where I stand.

Politics and greedy leaders,
Have torn you apart.
Due to those troubles,
Our parents and their parents, left the struggle,
In hope for one day to return to your heart.

At 21, I stand lost in your beauty that I see on the screens,
At 21, I stand lost in the smiles of my family I see in pictures, that I didn’t grow near,
At 21, I stand lost in the country I should know everything about,
At 21, I stand lost, because I know nothing about the land where my roots come from.

Lebanon, a piece of heaven on earth, they say,
I await the day, on your soil, I will kneel and pray.
For I will be home, on the land I belong,
Even if just for a visit,
Even if just for a day,
I will get to say, “I’m home today”..

agbu-yp-Lebanon
Source: http://agbuyp.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/agbu-yp-Lebanon.jpg

lebanon22
Source: http://www.skiinglebanon.com/files/2010/07/lebanon22.jpg

3 thoughts on “Lebanon, piece of heaven

  1. This is so beautiful and patriotic 🙂 I loved it! You’re very talented 🙂 I hope to visit Lebanon some day too.

    Warm Regards,
    -Naima

    PS– I am sorry if it’s me being too forward but can I know your name? Just easier for me to comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

