Can’t sort out my thoughts

Every couple of days, I check my WordPress, open the blank white sheet and stare.

I write a few sentences then a moment later I erase the whole thing. Some days I write up to two paragraphs and then delete it all and just log out.

I have issues sorting out my thoughts. I will start on one thought and end up on a complete other one, and in that time period a couple of different thoughts would pop up, too.
I love to write and put the words floating in my head down, but I can’t seem to sort them. This is actually a problem I’ve had ever since I was a kid. In my English class my teacher would always tell me my thoughts were all over the place so my essays would jump from one section to another randomly.

It’s like my brain is a machine that shoots out thoughts, ideas, and words without giving me a pattern.
Some days are great. I can get exactly what I want and mean down, but most days it’s just a hurricane.

Does this happen to other people, or is it just me?

4 thoughts on “Can’t sort out my thoughts

  1. I think everyone has this problem to a greater or lesser extent. I solve mine by just writing in word and rather than pressing delete save it. Later I go back to these misshapen prodigies and either edit and finish or interweave several together. It’s not text book writing but it works for me.

  2. Agree with claire. Save it. And my way of doing it:
    1. create a notepad file (no need to go online for this, surely)
    2. name it something cool or holy (‘doggywoodpecker’, ‘groggy_einstein’, your call)
    3. write anything on it (be as concise as pissible though, one line one idea/post)

    note: it’s NOT a draft file, but just some compendium of ideas (unusual, silly, crazy, smart etc), anything you think might be workable on first thought.

    PS: it works for me, now my enemy is not about coming up with some ideas, but diligence. πŸ™‚ Good luck.

    • Thank you for your comment! I have started writing notes on my laptop notepad or my phone notepad depending on what is accessable at the time of my thinking.

      Have a great day! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

