I am powerless

The thoughts in my head suffocate me.
I drown in the waves that your memories have created.
I try to paddle through but my closed eyes can only imagine you.

While my ears ring from all the horrid words you said,
I choke on the phrases I never let flow out.

I am soaked in sweat and fear,
As this nightmare takes over me.

My body is flooded with pain,
Inert I lay, incapable of waking up,
I am powerless.

One thought on “I am powerless

  1. This is such a powerful post although you talk about being powerless! I can relate to this poetry, some people leave a mark in your life that doesn’t wash easily. Memories ache and they reign on your thoughts forever. Beautiful poetry, Nadine!

    Much love,
    -Naima

Leave a Reply

