Carepackage

Last week my host mom informed me that she was diagnosed with stage 3 breast cancer. I was in complete shock and tears. I didn’t know how to react or what to say. I learned that the most important thing I should tell her, always, is that I love her, and that I am with her through every step. Even though I am miles away.

I decided to put together a care package for her, but I am not sure what to add in it. I decided to put a scarf and fuzzy socks. I’m also adding this specific food from my part of the world that she loves. I am including a notebook and pen, so she can write her experiences down, or anything she would want to.

What else do you suggest I should put in the care package?

7 thoughts on “Carepackage

  1. You could put in a book from her favorite author or something she really likes. I am really sorry to hear that, Nadine. I hope she recovers soon and you feel better. Just be with her; I think your support is all she needs.

    Kind Regards,
    -Naima

    • Yes, I probably will. She enjoys reading as well!

      Thank you, my dear, I hope she recovers soon too.

      She is being so very strong, and I am trying to be as strong for her.

      Lots of Love,
      Nadine

      • I am so glad to hear from you. Just keep being strong; it will be sorted out. Happy woman’s day to both of you. Thank you for sharing your words with us, Nadine.
        Much love,
        -Naima

  2. So sorry to hear that. I pray she recovers soon. At such times fear can be as big a battle as the disease, soothing music or calming, faith building audio tapes can be a help.
    A word about cancer sometimes it pays to think outside the box. I’ve had 7 friends get various kinds, but only the four using various combinations of prayer and diet have stayed free long term.

    • Thank you so much, Claire, I appreciate it. That is a great idea! I will make her a CD with our favorite relaxing songs that she would enjoy listening to.
      Thank you for that note.

      God Bless,
      Nadine

  3. You could put in your favourites memories of her, written inside a letter. You must be going through a really hard time, and all you need to know is that you’ll be there for her, like she always is for you.

    I hope she recovers, I do.

    • Kavvzzz, I love your idea! I will definitely be adding in the memory letters. That is very creative and from the heart. Thank you for sharing!

      I hope she recovers, too.

      Warm Regards,
      Nadine

Leave a Reply

