That Is How I Found The Beauty Within Me

I bought three packs of colors the other day. You know, I realized I needed to color my life. A pack of markers, a pack of crayons and a pack of pencil colors. I sat down on my bed, with a white sheet of paper in front of me and a pencil in my hand. “What am I suppose to do? I don’t even know how to draw”, I thought to myself. I got a ruler out and began to draw lines. Not knowing where to stop, or what to create, I just kept drawing lines. They went around, across and in between. Of course none were the same size, and neither were the spaces they created. I even got a circular box and began adding circles to my lines. By the time I was done with it I realized it was too crowded and chaotic to even add colors. It was too much of a disaster to make it beautiful.

After a few minutes of staring at this scribble filled paper, I decided to erase parts. I unwrapped a new white rubber and began to take away parts of my madness. I erased a few lines here and there. I erased a few circles and drew them elsewhere. I took my sweet, sweet time, and really looked at this piece with determination. After a while, I sat back and drew a smile on my face because I could honestly say I was proud of these lines and circles I had drawn. It was nothing special, nothing huge, but it just looked nice to me.

I then popped out my pencil colors and began to add beauty to the lines. I used various colors, and that really made me feel happy. Simplicity always did make me happy. I spent an afternoon on my bed working at this piece of paper and at the end of the evening I was filled with joy that I had finished it, and I did it so well.

That night, while I was in bed, I compared that paper to my life. I realized, that is what I had to do to add color to my life. I needed to take a step back and look at my messy self and decide, what I wanted to keep, or I should say, who I wanted to keep in my life. I had to decided what needed to be changed, what needed to be altered, and what needed to be completely pushed away.

That’s what I did. The next day, I began to work on myself. I erased and adjusted, I experimented and decided what I wanted and what I didn’t want anymore. A week later I noticed all the new colors that were automatically added to my life. I noticed the bright and the light. I noticed the bits of shades and pretty darks. I began to see the beauty I hold.

Once you start seeing the beauty within you, the beauty you hold, there is no going back from there.

4 thoughts on “That Is How I Found The Beauty Within Me

Leave a Reply

